News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Explanation of the procedure involved with Porting a Game fromSpeccy-CPC game?

Started by Puresox, 18:22, 26 October 16

Previous topic - Next topic

Puresox

Any chance of someone giving an explanation ,in laymans terms, of the procedure that goes into porting a Spectrum game to Amstrad.
I'm no programmer , but I do appreciate trying to understand what goes into this process.
Can anyone give us a good run down of how this is done .?

andycadley

In the simplest terms you take the Spectrum code, replace all the machine specific code (reading the keyboard, drawing to the screen etc) and replace it with Amstrad specific code with the same input/outputs and then you're done. How difficult that is depends on where you're starting from (do you have source code? etc) and how dependent upon features of the Spectrum architecture it is (some games will use a column of black paper/black ink to automatically clip sprites for example). There may be additional complexity for games with a lot of colour, for example, as you may need to "emulate" the attribute system within your drawing routines in order for things to behave correctly (which is why you sometimes see "colour clash" in ported games, even though the Amstrad has no such limitation).

The more effort you're prepared to put into it, the better the end result will be. Redrawing all the graphics and redesigning parts to better suit the CPC can improve the end result.

Joseman

There are different procedures to make a spectrum port:

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/Speccy_Port#The_3_levels_of_Speccy_porting

I think that the type 3 "Good Job" is even a good game on CPC.

Talking about the type 1 "Rushed and Lazy", well, i did the Skool Daze port like this, i mean, i was not lazy nor Rushed, i only have to learn how to do it step by step.