Ho do I connect the CPC 6128 Hardware Floppy Emulator from Pjotr Bugaj?

Started by Bytebreaker, 15:20, 01 June 17

Previous topic - Next topic

Bytebreaker

Hello,

I am a total hardware noob and don't know how to connect the CPC 6128 Floppy emulator from Pjotr Bugaj.
The DDI 3 emulator fits to the external port of the CPC 464 but the CPC 6128 version does not fit into any port on the backside of the CPC 6128. The ports on the CPC 6128 and on the floppy emulator are both "female".

Another question:
Can I connect one 12v power source to the 5v input of the CPC 6128 and is that enough to feed both cpc and floppy drive? Or do I need to connect a separate 5v and 12v source and connect them to the power inputs on the back side?

Currently, I use a green monitor as power supply and use colour video output on a flat led TV with a special cable.

robcfg

A picture of the back side of your 6128 would be appreciated, though I think your 6128 has centronics ports instead of the male edge connector.

If I'm right, you'll need an adapter for that.

Shaun M. Neary

If it's an Amstrad CPC6128 model you'll need an edge connector but if it's the German Schneider CPC6128 model then you'll need a centronics connector to attach the floppy cable from the computer to the 3.5" drive / HXC. A lot of cables come with a ABAA switch which works just fine although ABBA would work better but it's not a show stopper as the likes of JLCopy runs just fine from B: as opposed to Discology which throws a fit unless it's run from A:  :)
Currently playing on: 2xCPC464, 1xCPC6128, 1x464Plus, 1x6128Plus, 2xGX4000. M4 board, ZMem 1MB and still forever playing Bruce Lee.
No cheats, snapshots or emulation. I play my games as they're intended to be played. What about you?

gerald

Quote from: Bytebreaker on 15:20, 01 June 17
Another question: